Know Thyself

Warrior Poet Wisdom

“He who knows others is wise; he who knows himself is enlightened.”
― Lao Tzu

I had a conversation at work recently that the other party wasn’t very happy with by the end. Bottom line was that he wanted a certain thing that he couldn’t have and he felt he was an exception to the rule. I disagreed. Although the entire conversation was conducted in a professional manner from my end, he made a complaint to my manager accusing me of being unprofessional.

In these types of situations where someone points an accusing finger, we’re typically supposed to feel threatened and go on the defensive. This is our undoing, because appearing defensive often shows the other person that our emotions can be easily influenced by others, which somewhat legitimizes their criticism.

As my manager asked me for my side of the story, rather than getting worked up that someone would…

View original post 859 more words

2 thoughts on “Know Thyself

Leave a Reply

